Mississippi (MS) Tax Lien Sales

Sale Type: Tax Lien
Interest Rate: 18% APR
Bid Method: Highest Bidder
Redemption Period: 2 Years
Sale Date(s): April and August
State Statute(s): Title 27
Over-the-Counter: Yes
State Website: http://www.mississippi.gov/

Mississippi State Overview

In Mississippi, county treasurer’s and tax collector’s sell tax lien certificates to the winning bidder at the delinquent property tax sales.

  • Tax Sale Type: Tax Lien Certificate. (Sec. 27-41-55).
  • Contact: Tax Colector. (Sec. 27-41-47).
  • Interest Rate and/or Penalty Rate: 18% per annum and 5% penalty. (Sec. 27-45-3).
  • Bid Procedure: Premium bid / highest bid. (Sec. 27-41-59).
  • Redemption Period: Two (2) years. (Sec. 27-45-3).
  • Law: Mississippi Code, Title 27, Chapter 41, “Ad Valorem Taxes — Collection”, Chapter 45, “Ad Valorem Taxes — Redemption of Land Sold for Taxes,” and Chapter 47, “Ad Valorem Taxes — Assignment of Tax Liens.”
  • Important. According to (Sec. 27-41-77) the overbid does not draw interest. Furthermore, the overbid will not be returned upon redemption and “shall be credited to the county general fund”.
State County Contact Info
MS Adams
MS Alcorn
MS Amita
MS Attala
MS Benton
MS Bolivar
MS Calhoun
MS Carroll
MS Chickasaw
MS Choctaw
MS Claiborne
MS Clarke
MS Clay
MS Coahoma www.clarksdale.com/county/
MS Copiah
MS Covington
MS DeíSoto www.desotonet.com/
MS Forrest www.co.forrest.ms.us/
MS Franklin
MS George
MS Greene
MS Grenada
MS Hancock
MS Harrison
MS Hinds www.co.hinds.ms.us/pgs/index.asp
MS Holmes
MS Humphreys
MS Issaquena
MS Itawamba
MS Jackson www.co.jackson.ms.us/
MS Jasper
MS Jefferrson Davis
MS Jefferson
MS Jones www.edajones.com/
MS Kemper
MS Lafayette
MS Lamar www.lamarcounty.com/
MS Lauderdale www.lauderdalecounty.org/index.htm
MS Lawrence
MS Leake
MS Lee
MS Leflore
MS Lincoln
MS Lowndes
MS Madison
MS Marion
MS Marshall
MS Monroe
MS Montgomery
MS Neshoba www.neshoba.org/
MS Newton
MS Noxubee
MS Oktibbeha www.eda.co.oktibbeha.ms.us/
MS Panola
MS Pearl River
MS Perry
MS Pike www.pikeinfo.com/
MS Pontotoc
MS Prentiss
MS Quitman
MS Rankin rankincounty.org/
MS Scott
MS Sharkey
MS Simpson
MS Smith
MS Stone
MS Sunflower
MS Tallahatchie
MS Tate
MS Tippah
MS Tishomingo
MS Tunica
MS Union
MS Walthall
MS Warren
MS Washington
MS Wayne www.wayneco.com/
MS Webster
MS Wilkinson
MS Winston
MS Yalobusha
MS Yazoo


States that offer Over-the-Counter Tax Lien Certificates